Kealakehe girls swimming takes down Punahou to win school’s first state championship in 2010

Editor’s note: While the sports world is shut down due to the COVID-19 pandemic, West Hawaii Today will look back every Tuesday at memorable sports moments on the Big Island.

The Punahou girls showed up to the HHSAA swimming and diving championships in 2010 looking for their fifth consecutive state title. The Buffanblu girls had won — at that point — 45 championships in the sport, dating back to 1958.

The only thing in their way on Feb. 13, 2010 were the Kealakehe Waveriders and a former Buffanblu coach.

The Kealakehe girls swimming and diving team showed up to Kamehameha’s Naeole Pool that day and claimed the school’s first team state championship, securing the title on the final girls race of the day, the 400-yard freestyle relay featuring Madison-Gail Hauanio, Jade Morton, Kelly Jernigan and Alyssa Foo, who took bronze.

Waverider coach Steve Borowski said winning the title that year

Read More